Comfortable win for Hatherleigh big man

TOP HONOURS: Mount Burr's Heidi Clark was presented with her A Grade netball best and fairest honours plus the consistency award by association president Sara Gray, while Kalangdoo's Abbey Duncan finished runner-up in the best and fairest medal count.

By Trevor Jackson

JOE Ferguson-Lane is the toast of the Mid South Eastern Football League after claiming the mail Medal for best and fairest in A Grade.

The Hatherleigh big man was a clear winner, polling 27 votes to take the honours from Glencoe’s Dylan Childs on 15.

Kalangadoo’s Tye McManus finished third on 14 votes to also claim the Bill Hanel Memorial Under 21 award.

The afternoon at the Millicent Civic and Arts Centre was well attended and off to a good start.

In a touching moment the family of the late Robert Grosser were presented with a replacement Carthew Medal, after the 1996 medal was destroyed in a fire, where Grosser lost his life.

Both the Klas Bilt champion club of the year and Glenelg Trophy went to Hatherleigh and Robe, while Kalangadoo’s Kevin Stark was awarded senior coach of the year.

Life memberships were handed out to Nangwarry’s Ben Dinnison and Kongorong’s John Simkin.

In the Reserves, Jack Mullan claimed the leading goal kicker with 41 majors.

Votes for the best and fairest were tight, with the runner-up honours a joint affair, going to Port MacDonnell’s Jacob Simmonds and Robe’s Kane Cross with 11 votes.

The Reserves best and fairest Carthew Medal went to Mount Burr’s Jacob Gregory with 12 votes.

The remaining Seniors awards saw Kongorong’s Aaron Lightbody and Mount Burr’s Josh Wallis claim the joint win for the best backman, while the most valuable player award went to Childs.

Gorden Milosevic handed his Triple M Farmer Phil Scanlon Memorial Rookie of the Year award to Mount Burr’s Kallan Bevan.

The Klas Bilt team of the year: Ruck: Daron McElroy (vice captain), Dylan Childs (captain), Andrew Stone; Forwards: Ben Gregory, Dylan Bromley, Michael Krieger; Half forwards: Kevin Thomson, Zac Deane, Tye McManus; Centres: Josh Fiebig, Joe Ferguson-lane, Jordan Galpin; Half backs: Mitch Lowe, Chris Oliver, Sam Wallis; Backs: Patrick Mitchell, Josh Wallis, Will Chay; Coach: Kevin Stark; Umpire: Scott Chuck.

The A Grade netball was also a tight affair, but in the end Mount Burr’s Heidi Clark cleared the pack and claimed the best and fairest honours with 33 votes, from Kalangadoo’s Abbey Duncan on 27.

Clark was also awarded the consistency honours.

A team of the year was named, which included Maddie Redman, Emma Gould, Madi Haggett, Melissa Russell, Heidi Clark, Abbey Duncan, Sarah Faulkner, Lacey Haines, Tegan Merrett, Tamara Haggett (coach), Laura Schultz and Jayde Peacock.

Hatherleigh’s Lacey Haines and Tantanoola’s Emma Gould were joint winners of the Under 21 award.

In the A Reserves Kalangadoo’s Ebony McDiarmid claimed the best and fairest honours with 28 votes, while the B Grade honour went to Glencoe’s Chloe Watson on 19 points, from Kalangadoo’s Brianna Gale on 17.

B Reserve best and fairest went to Kalangadoo’s Rihanna May with 19 votes, from Tantanoola’s Jasmine Taylor on 18.

The club of the year and goal throwing awards went to Kalangadoo, while the Senior umpiring award went to Lisa Scott.