Nation’s best drivers converge on Borderline Speedway for iconic Easter Trail

Sprintcars Four Wide  TBW Newsgroup
SEASON FINALE: Action returns to the Borderline Speedway tomorrow night for round two of the Easter Sprintcar Trail. Picture: SR PHOTOS

Sprintcars Four Wide  TBW Newsgroup
SEASON FINALE: Action returns to the Borderline Speedway tomorrow night for round two of the Easter Sprintcar Trail.
Picture: SR PHOTOS

THE Borderline Speedway will roar into action tomorrow night for the final time this season.

It will finish with a bang, not just with the huge fireworks display at the end of the night, but also the annual Easter Sprintcar Trail.

To add to the excitement, the South Australian state title for Limited Sportsman will support the sprintcars, along with the Super Rods’ own Easter Trail.

The annual Sprintcar series begins tonight at Avalon Raceway, before converging on the Borderline Speedway tomorrow, then moves on to Warrnambool Sunday for the final night of competition.

A large field is assembled, with some of the biggest names in the business set to descend on the Borderline Speedway to provide an exciting final night of racing.

Reigning Easter Trail champion Jamie Veal will look to defend his title, while a host of other top drivers are in the mix.

Unfortunately for Limestone Coast fans Steven Lines will not be attending, due to team commitments in Queensland.

However, Glen Sutherland will fly the flag for the region and is always fast on his home track.

Add that to the likes of Grant Anderson, Daniel Pestka, David Murcott, Matt Egel, Corey McCullagh, plus Marcus and Matt Dumesny and there will certainly be a lot of talent on display in a field of 45.

The South Australian Limited Sportsman championships are sure to provide action, after the previous title was rescheduled due to the weather on the night.

For the Limestone Coast there will be plenty to cheer for, with five drivers looking to defend their home turf.

Matt McCallum, Josh Aston, Kahn Aston, Mark Stevens and Damon Stevens will all hope to impress in their own backyard, but will face talented opposition in what appears to be a tough field.

South Australia number one Nathan Baker will be on hand to keep the “locals” honest, among a strong field of 15 entries.

It has been several years since the class raced at the Borderline Speedway and president Cary Jennings said he expected an action-packed race after such a long absence from the venue.

The Super Rods will certainly be fast and furious, with their own Easter Trail series to contest.

They follow the Sprintcars at the three venues over the weekend, which makes for an exciting night of racing at Mount Gambier.

Tomorrow will see 17 drivers chase the honours on the night, with the points important over the whole weekend.

As is always the case at the Easter meeting, the night will be capped off by a huge fireworks display.

Last year was one of the best displays seen at the venue, with the same company again running the end-of-night show tomorrow.

With such a big meeting scheduled, the format has changed somewhat, with heats expected to start from 5pm.

All in all it promises to be a huge night of entertainment to cap off another big season of speedway racing in the Limestone Coast.


Adrian Cottrell S41; Aidan Hall S15; Andrew Hughes V28; Andy Caruana V96; Brad Ayers NQ11; Brayden Parr S72; Brett Sullivan S28; Brock Hallett S13; Colin Brooks V71; Corey McCullagh V90; Craig Vanderstelt S2; Daniel Pestka S27; Darren Clark V50; David Donegan VA75; David Murcott V88; Dennis Jones V17; Glen Sutherland S20; Grant Anderson V37; Grant Stansfield VA88; Jack Lee V25; Jamie Heyen V89; Jamie Veal V35; Jarrod Woolstencroft V38; Jock Goodyer T22; John Vogels V70; Jordyn Charge V60; Kris Johnson N56; Kristy Ellis V12; Luke Walker V67; Marcus Dumesny V5; Matt Egel S97; Matthew Dumesny
V72; Matthew Reed V92; Michael Tancredi V29; Michael Van Bremen V45; Mitchell Gee V3; Nick Penno T48; Peter Doukas V98; Robert Paton V81; Rusty Hickman V40; Ryan Davis V95; Stephen Spark V32; Tate Frost T62; Terry Kelly S37; Troy Little N20.


SA1 Nathan Baker; L4 Lindsay Trotter; Ho7 Clint Baker; Ho9 Nathan John Buckley; MG21 Joshua Aston; MG22 Mark Stevens; HA23 Christopher Ansell; HA26 Craig Ansell; Ho40 Dean Baker; Ho44 Mark Shane McDonald; MG74 Damon Andrew Stevens; HA81 Kahn Aston; HA91 Shaun Hutchins; SA97 Matt McCallum; P99 Bowen Donkers.


W5 Paul Verhoeven Mini/350 Chev; W8 Jamie May Fiat/350 Chev; Av12 Adrian Rieck Honda Scamp/355 Holden; W13 Shaun Walsh Daihatsu/350 Chev; S17 Jim Gronbeck Daihatsu/350 Chev; W21 Troy Gleeson Niki 302/Ford; SH34 Duane Cordina Mini/LS1 Chev; W51 Michael Coad Honda Z/350 Chev; S53 Peter Duynhoven VW/350 Chev; W55 Trevor Perry Fiat/350 Chev; L56 Neville Gange Ford 10/350 Chev; M57 Troy Hose Daihatsu/LS1 Chev; S66 George Woolstencroft Daihatsu/350 Chev; M85 Paul Singleton Mini/350 Chev; W88 Howard Stansfield Daihatsu/350 Chev; W98 Ewan McKenzie Niki/351 Ford; SH 99 Zac Farrer Daihatsu/350 Chev.