Motorsport: Historic return to McNamara Park

READY TO RACE: Riders line up ready for the Tour De LC Cup race at the 2017 SA Historic’s Championships event held at McNamara Park over the weekend.

IT was a blast from the past at McNamara Park on the weekend, as riders contested the 2017 SA Historic’s Championships.

The competition saw a large field compete in a variety of classes, with some grades racing together, before these results were sorted into their respective classes for the final standings.

Simon Cook on his Period 4 bike took out the Ken Blake Memorial race, followed by David Trotter on the Period 3 JAP, while Dan Gleeson came in third.

The Bob Memorial race saw Greg Watkins cap off a successful weekend with a first place, with Murray Johnson and Danny Ahern filling the minor positions.

The final feature race was the Tour De LC Cup, which was won by Andy Pitman from Nathaniel Wilson and Brett Metcalf.

It was a joint affair for the All 125cc, Class C, Period 2 and Period 3 250cc classes, as riders from these categories went head-to-head in four races.

Pole rights went to McNamara Park member David Short on his Period 5 Morbedilli and race one saw him take the bragging rights from Warrnambool’s David Morse (Velocette 500) and Darrell Bailey on his Ducati Period 3 250cc machine.

Short claimed another win in race two, but it was Morris who claimed the next two victories, forcing Short to settle for second, while Large and Morse came in third in race three and four respectively.

The final results saw Morse with a clean sweep in the Period 2 class to take out the honours, while Wayne Fary on the Ron Baker-prepared Triumph Tiger 500 claimed the Class C win.

Despite the last two races going Morris’ way, Short was able to take out the All 125cc class, with Morris in third behind Gemma Kernich.

The Period 3 350cc and 700cc classes also raced together over the weekend.

This event resulted in Watkins taking out the 350cc category, with Russell Craddock backing up his pole position with the overall win in the 700cc.

Watkins also claimed the championship win in the Period 3 500cc category.

Another joint field saw the Period 3 Unlimited and Period 4 500cc classes combine.

It was a close battle in the Period 3 Unlimited between Darren and David Trotter, but mechanical issues saw the latter with the overall win from his father, winning three of the four races.

Robin Williams claimed the honours in the Period 4 500cc class.

For the Period 4 Unlimited, Cook won the weekend with a clean sweep, while Robert Ruwoldt was the man to beat in the Period 5 Unlimited.

The Period 5 350cc event was also run with the Period 4 and 5 Unlimited’s, which saw Chris Hayward with the class victory.

Hayward doubled his success with an overall win in the Period 5 500cc division, winning all four races.

Final results by class

Period 2: David Morse (Velocette 500) 100 points; Chris Lang (BSA 635) 80; Murray Johnson (Harley 750) 71.

Class C: Wayne Fary (Triumph Tiger 500) 100 points; Peter Hehir (Matchless G80) 74; Ray Iles (Harley WLA 750) 72.

All 125cc: David Short (Morbidelli 125) 90 points; Gemma Kernich (Honda 125cc) 74; Terry Morris ( Honda 125) 70.

Period 3 250cc: Peter Large 95 points; Darrell Bailey 85.

Period 3 350cc: Greg Watkins (Norton Manx) 100 points; Richard Metcalf (AJS) 78; Thomas O’Neill (BSA) 71.

Period 3 700cc: Russell Craddock (Triumph 650) 100 points; Paul McGahan (Triumph 500) 80; Des Heaney (Triumph 650) 72.

Period 3 Unlimited: David Trotter (JAP 1000) 95 points; Russell Craddock (Triumph 650) 73; Dan Gleeson (Norton) 73.

Period 4 500cc: Robin Williams (Honda CB350) 85 points; Chris Pash (Suzuki T500) 75; John Inkster (Suzuki T500) 73.

Period 4 Unlimited: Simon Cook (Honda 750) 100 points; Eric Giggins (Honda 750) 80; David Robinson (BSA650) 63.

Period 5 Unlimited: Robert Ruwoldt (Harris Kawasaki) 95 points; Dean Castleton 81; Mike Moloney (Suzuki GSX110) 76.

Period 5 350cc: Chris Hayward (Yamaha TZ) 100 points; Nathaniel Wilson (Yamaha 250) 80; Otto Muller (Yamaha TZ) 69.

Period 5 500cc: Chris Hayward (Yamaha SR500) 100 points; Russell Clark (Yamaha XT500) 66; Allan Elder (Yamaha SR500) 63.

Period 3 500cc: Greg Watkins (Manx Norton) 95 points; Murray Johnson (Manx Norton) 78; Paul McGahan (Triumph) 70.

Period 4 250cc: Peter Heles (CZ) 85 points; Robert Day (Suzuki T250) 75; Kevin Youngson (Benelli) 54.

Period 4 350cc: John Inkster (Aermacchi) 75 points.

Period 5 250cc: Brett Metcalf (Yamaha) 90 points; Andy Pitman (Yamaha) 86; Nathaniel Wilson (Yamaha) 76.

Ken Blake Memorial: Simon Cook 1; David Trotter 2; Dan Gleeson 3.

Bob Jolly Memorial: Greg Watkins 1; Murray Johnson 2; Danny Ahern.

Tour De LC Cup: Andy Pitman 1; Nathaniel Wilson 2; Brett Metcalf 3.

Other wins for the championships included Peter Heles in the Period 4 250cc, while John Inkster claimed the Period 4 350cc and Metcalf secured a narrow victory in the Period 5 250cc event.

LEADING THE WAY: Andy Pitman leads the race with Brett Metcalf and Nathaniel Wilson hot on his heels.