Student achievements recognised

NARACOORTE HIGH: Aidyn Davis (academic award), Jasmin Ireland (student leadership), Ashlea O'Shaughnessy (community service and spirit) and Limestone Coast education director Adam Box.

A SERIES of annual academic awards celebrating Limestone Coast students’ education, community service and school spirit have been handed out as part of end-of-year celebrations.

The Barker Shield Program celebrated 24 high school students across eight regional facilities with academic and community service and spirit awards among the accolades, as well as a category determined by each participating school.

Member for Barker Tony Pasin said each students positive contribution would be permanently honoured through the perpetual Barker Shield, which is displayed in a prominent location at each school.

“It is a great privilege to be able to recognise the valuable contribution of the students that achieve at very high levels,” Mr Pasin said.

“COVID-19 has no doubt had an impact on us all. I commend students on their perseverance, dedication and commitment to their studies during this once in a lifetime disruption.”

Within Barker 20 Schools participated in the 2020 program.

“On behalf of the Federal Government, I congratulate all students for their efforts through a difficult year and whether they are continuing study or entering the work force I wish students from all schools across Barker all the best for 2021”.

2020 Barker Shield recipients

Bordertown High School: Eliza Staude (academic), Josh Flaviano (community service and spirit), Kahli Lock (school Dux).

Kingston Community School: Bethany Castle, Erika Watson, Kate Parker (school service).

Millicent High School: Indiana Marshall, Tanner Milnes, Tess Doecke (positive commitment to learning).

Naracoorte High School: Aidyn Davis, Ashlea O’Shaughnessy, Jasmin Ireland (student leadership).

Penola High School: Ella Hutchesson, Ebonie Moulton, Stephen Ryan (vocational education).

St Martins Lutheran College: David Zwijnenburg, Myah de Breuk, Ruben van Eeden (support school ethos).

Tenison Woods College: Gianna Morello, Aden Clarke, Gael Chizingu (school pride).

Tintinara Area School: Jessie Seidel, Lidia Keller, Bethany Makin (creative expression).