State Chair appointed


JEANETTE Long, Ag Ex Inaugural Chair and long-standing committee member, has been appointed as South Australia’s State Chair of the inaugural AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award Alumni Committee.

Jeanette is a passionate advocate for rural women.

Based in SA she farms with her husband, Bill, and son, Will, on Eyre Peninsula and in the Mid North.

She works as a facilitator, trainer and coach across Australia and New Zealand, influencing positive change in agriculture as well as working with rural women’s groups.

This has included co-facilitating the SA PIRSA funded Stepping into Leadership program for the last nine years.

The new committee was one of the outcomes of working alongside the Rural Women’s Award Alumni Advisory Panel to review the Rural Women’s Award Program.

It was decided that the Committee of State Chairs would replace the Alumni Advisory Panel, with one Chair in each state or territory to champion the Award, grow the profile of the Award and create connections and opportunities for all Alumni.

Each of the State Chairs will be responsible for pulling together their own small State Committee, made up of Alumni volunteers.