Exceptional students awarded scholarships

GRANT District Council has helped put smiles on the faces of a number of students who have received educational scholarships.

Council recently awarded the 2019 round of academic scholarships to eligible students who live in the Grant district.

Operating since 2010, the program gifts $500 academic scholarships to Year 10 to 12 students.

Forty-five scholarships have been awarded over the past nine years, helping local students with purchasing books, equipment and resources to support their education.

Successful recipients demonstrate high level academic achievement, commitment and attitude and have an exemplary attendance record.

Students also need to adhere to schools’ code of conduct, vision and values, with a commitment to school activities including extra-curricular activities.

Students should also aspire to complete the South Australian Certificate of Education and further education.

The 2019 academic scholarship recipients are Jordan Hutchins of Mount Gambier High School, Jocelyn Patzel of Tenison Woods College; Abby Little of Grant High School, Cayla Willsmore of St Martins Lutheran College and Caitlyn Millard of Allendale East Area School.

Council congratulated the successful and dedicated students.

Information regarding the 2020 academic scholarships will be sent to high schools in February 2020.

Leave a Reply