Dancers shine on eisteddfod stage

BALLET SUCCESS: Adjudicator Christopher Favaloro, Zelda Parker 12-17 Years Classical Solo Scholarship winner Tennille Grubb and Backstage Incorporated president Michelle Nicholls.

WELL DESERVED: Madison Lane is a highly decorated Limestone Coast dancer performing for more than nine years. She received the Zelda Parker Under 12 Classical Solo Scholarship in addition to the Under 14 Jazz and Neo/Contemporary Solo award. Madison is a student at MJ Dance Studio and is trained by Christina Jenkins.

DANCE students from the South East, Western Victoria and Adelaide competed in the annual Mount Gambier Eisteddfod dance division recently.

Mount Gambier Eisteddfod dance director Tony Chalinor said he was pleased with the event’s success.

“Every year our dancers produce different routines,” he said.

“Producing such high quality performances every year is a credit to the dancers in addition to the choreographers and dance schools.

“The students should all be incredibly proud of what they have achieved this year and what they continue to achieve every year.”

Key results

Classical ballet major award winners:

Zelda Parker under 12 Classical Solo Scholarship – Madison Lane; Zelda Parker 12-17 years Classical Solo Scholarship – Tennille Grubb; Open Sir Robert Helpmann Memorial Perpetual Trophy Solo – Ella Rose Churchill.

Major championship award winners:

Under 14 Tap Solo – Sofia Perkovic; Under 14 Jazz and Neo/Contemporary Solo – Madison Lane; 14 years and over Jazz and Neo/Contemporary Solo – Jasmin Carter; 14 and over Tap Solo Champion – Jasmin Carter.


8 years and under 10 – Holly Allison; 10 years and under 12 – Aleisha Burrows; 12 years and under 14 – Olivia Hawthorne; 14 years and under 16 – Asha Rodda; 16 years and over – Jasmin Carter
Troupe – MJ Dance Studio

Dance School – MJ Dance Studio

Don Mc Donnell Memorial Perpetual Trophy – Jasmin Carter.

Adjudicator’s Choice awards: Choreography Award – Maxine Lockwood

Belinda Blackett Memorial Perpetual Trophy – Ryan Thompson

Max Lockwood Memorial Perpetual Trophy – Halle Anderson.