Easy pickings

STRONG PERFORMANCE: Ian MacIntosh, Alby McIntyre, Deane Wilkinson and Brenton Wittwer were easy winners of the Mount Gambier RSL Champion Fours competition.


THE RSL Bowling Club held its Championship Fours over four separate dates and attracted a strong entry of 11 teams.

Early rounds had a format of the best of 12 ends.

Some tight, powerful bowling was on display throughout the tournament which culminated in an intriguing final between the team consisting of Deane Wilkinson, Alby McIntyre, Ian MacIntosh and Brenton Wittwer, up against Rex Heins, Andy Ashby, Ron Edlington and Max Schultz.

Both teams had been impressive in their paths to the final where the format changed to the best of 15 ends.

In the end the Deane Wilkinson skippered team made short work of the final with a 20-4 victory.

They will go on to contest the Champion of Champions Fours at a later date.