New RDALC appointments

NEW BLOOD: Regional Development Australia Limestone Coast Chair Evan Flint with new board members Michael Millhouse and Jane Fetherstonhaugh

THE new Regional Development Australia Limestone Coast Board met for the first time this month after having appointed two new members – local farmer Jane Fetherstonhaugh and recent Limestone Coast Leadership Program graduate Michael Millhouse.

Ms Fetherstonhaugh is a third-generation primary producer from Kalangadoo with over 27 years experience in government and private enterprise.

She has significant experience within the local government sector and was the Deputy Chief Executive Officer for the District Council of Grant for 12 years.

Mr Millhouse is part of the leadership team at NHP Electrical Engineering where he is responsible for the delivery of projects throughout the Limestone Coast region.

His roles have encompassed technical support, account management, project management and budget estimating.

Regional Development Australia Limestone Coast chair Evan Flint said the new board appointments would help bolster the board’s existing representation of business people and regional leaders.

“I’m extremely pleased to welcome Jane and Michael to the board as they will bring a strong connection to local business and industry, as well as experience in both private and public sector services,” he said.

Mr Flint said the new-look board possessed strong business acumen and drive, helping to continue the organisation’s existing program focusing on business support, investment attraction and retaining a vibrant workforce in the South East.

“The Limestone Coast has significant natural assets that underpin the economy’s competitive advantages,” he said.

“I’m confident that this dynamic mix of industry and business leaders will provide direction and opportunity for our region to reach its full potential.

“Our focus for 2021 has centred around supporting our small business community and delivering the Regional Work SA Program, assisting areas hard hit for staff such as the agriculture, health and hospitality sectors.

“While our foundation has always included investment attraction and infrastructure, we have also taken a significant step to expand and broaden the provision of critical services through our one-on-one business support,” said Regional Development Australia Limestone Coast CEO, David Wheaton.

Returning members of the board include Darren Turner (MiniJumbuk CEO), Simone Kain (George the Farmer Co-Founder), Liz McKinnon (Green Triangle Forest Industries Hub General Manager), Judy Nagy (Project Management and Finance), Lew Parsons (Forest Industry Consultant), Erika Vickery OAM (Mayor, Naracoorte Lucindale Council), Scott Whicker (Manufacturing and Engineering), Alan Richardson (RDALC Deputy Chair) and Evan Flint (RDALC Chair).

Former The Border Watch General Manger Dennis Jackson did not seek reappointment.

“The RDALC Board would like to thank Dennis for his valued contributions during the past three years and we wish him well on his future endeavours,” Mr Wheaton said.