Basketball: SEABL draw released

THE WAIT BEGINS: With the 2018 SEABL season set to kick off at the start of April, defending National Champions Mount Gambier Pioneers will be eagerly waiting for this year’s competition to begin.

THE 2018 South East Australian Basketball League draw has been released and will see competition kick off April 6.

This year will see a shortened season with a single conference, opposed to the South and East conference format previously used.

As a result, teams will play 10 home and 10 away games in the minor rounds, with the first week of finals starting on July 27, before the grand final is played August 18.

Another change will see Diamond Valley join the league as the 16th men’s team, while it will also have a side in the women’s competition.

Following the success of the Mount Gambier Pioneers in 2017, where they claimed both the East conference and National titles, this change in format could see the competition tighten up even more.

Week one will see Mount Gambier travel to the Geelong Arena to face the home team Supercats.

This will be followed by three home games for the Pioneers, against Albury/Wodonga, Diamond Valley and Bendigo respectively.

SEABL 2018 Draw

Round 1 (April 7): Geelong v Mount Gambier, 5pm.

Round 2 (April 13): Mount Gambier v Albury/Wodonga, 7.30pm.

Round 3 (April 20): Mount Gambier v Diamond Valley, 7.30pm.

Round 4 (April 27): Mount Gambier v Bendigo, 7.30pm.

Round 5 (May 5): Frankston v Mount Gambier, 8.30pm; (May 6): Kilsyth v Mount Gambier, 2pm

Round 6 (May 11): Mount Gambier v Nunawading, 7.30pm.

Round 7 (May 18): Hobart v Mount Gambier, 8pm; (May 19): NW Tasmania v Mount Gambier, 7.30pm.

Round 8 (May 25): Mount Gambier v Canberra, 7.30pm.

Round 9 (June 1): Mount Gambier v Dandenong, 7.30pm.

Round 10 (June 15): Mount Gambier v Kilsyth, 7.30pm.

Round 11 (June 22): Bendigo v Mount Gambier, 8pm; (June 23): Ballarat v Mount Gambier, 8pm.

Round 12 (June 29): Mount Gambier v Frankston, 7.30pm.

Round 13 (July 6): Bacoe v Mount Gambier, 7pm; (July 7): Canberra v Mount Gambier, 7.30pm.

Round 14 (July 13): Mount Gambier v Geelong, 7.30pm.

Round 15 (July 20): Mount Gambier v Melbourne, 7.30pm; (July 21): Sandringham v Mount Gambier, 7pm.

Finals – Week 1 (July 27, 28, 29); Semi finals (August 3, 4, 5); Preliminary finals (August 10, 11, 12); Grand final (August 18).

Leave a Reply