KNTFL: Penola Football Club senior presentations

PENOLA Football Club recently hosted its end of season presentations to honour players, coaching staff and club members.

Continuing his success in 2017, Simon Berkefeld was crowned best and fairest at the event, while recruit Seb Guilhaus claimed the runner-up honours.

Berkefeld won the Kowree Naracoorte Tatiara Football League Mail/Virgo Medal best and fairest winner just weeks ago after a stellar season in the middle for the Eagles.

The 30-year-old onballer said he was honoured to take out the club award.

“With the calibre of players in our side this season, it was an honour,” he said.

“We had a great side with a number of talented players who had great years, so it could have gone to a number of people.”

After a disappointing preliminary final loss to eventual Kowree Naracoorte Tatiara Football League 2017 premiers Lucindale, Berkefeld said he was still pleased with his season with the Eagles.

“We all wish it would have ended differently, but that is sport,” he said.

“I think as a playing group we did what we could and the year certainly was an enjoyable one.”

With the announcement of Adam Merrett hanging up his “coaching boots” for the Penola Eagles, Berkefeld said he had learnt a lot throughout the two years of playing under the star forward.

“Hoggett (Adam Merrett) has been fantastic in what he has done for the club,” he said.

“He has put everything he can into making us the best we can be.

“They are big shoes to fill, but he leaves the coaching in a good spot for the next person to continue to build.”

Merrett was awarded his life membership with the club at the presentation night last week after years of dedication.

Meanwhile, Scott Merrett claimed the prestigious footballer-of-the-Year award after an impressive year of football at both club and representative level.

In the netball Sally Skeer won her 11th club best and fairest in A Grade, while Georgia Winter took out runner-up after a stellar season.

Abbie Gartner honoured to be awarded the Tanya Skeer Memorial Award for most club votes in 2017.

Leave a Reply